Yampa Valley BankGenuine Hometown Banking
Personaldivder lineBusinessMortagedivider lineContact Usdivider lineAbout Usdivider lineHelpSearch
About Us


Yampa Valley Bank is a truly locally owned bank serving the people of Routt and Moffat counties. Our singular commitment to community banking is reflected in the honest and friendly service provided to all our visitors. It’s what we call Genuine Hometown Banking. It’s who we are.

The original organizing members of Yampa Valley Bank consisted of Local business owners and community leaders seeking an alternative to the detached practices of the large corporate banks. Initially founded as First National Bank of Steamboat Springs, the group received its charter and opened its doors for business in March of 2000 as the only locally owned bank. Five years later the first branch location was opened in Craig, Colorado operating as Moffat County National Bank. A Craig investor group facilitated the expansion and serve today as an advisory board. First National Bank of Steamboat Springs converted from a National Bank to a State-Chartered Bank in August of 2008 and brought both locations under one name – Yampa Valley Bank. Most of the original organizing members remain owners/directors fulfilling the initial intent to ‘…put the community first and strive to exceed our customers’ expectations of a locally owned bank…’ as stated in the company’s mission statement.

Today Yampa Valley Bank oversight is provided by a 16 member Board of Directors in Steamboat working in tandem with a 12 member advisory board in Craig. In total there are 70 investors with ties directly to the Yampa Valley that afford YVB a unique and unmatched knowledge of the area and its residents. Yampa Valley Bank has gained market share rapidly and consistently since March of 2000 validating our belief that bank customers appreciate absolute local decision making and true local reinvestment. High bank ratings as determined by multiple public bank rating companies reflect a safety and soundness that our customers can trust in. Yampa Valley Bank is committed to our customers and our communities.

Employees, directors, and investors volunteer in and lead a wide variety of community activities and non-profit groups benefiting all local residents. Some of the community groups our Officers and Staff are involved with include the following: Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club, Routt County and Moffat County United Way, Yampa Valley Community Foundation, Ski Town USA Rotary Club, Moffat County Finance Corporation Board, Kiwanis Club of Craig, Legacy Committee of the Yampa Valley, Mountain Village Partnership, Steamboat Springs Pro Rodeo, Catamount Ranch and Club Scholarship Committee, Ski Town Classic Golf Tournament Committee, Craig Moffat Economic Development Partnership, Ski Town Classic Golf Tournament Sponsorships, Economic Restructuring Committee – Mainstreet Steamboat, Tread of Pioneers, Grand Futures Prevention Coalition, Affiliate Partnership Council, Impact 100, Habitat for Humanity, Yampa Valley Breast Cancer Awareness – Bust of Steamboat, Relay for Life, Moffat County Little Britches Rodeo Association, Colorado NW Community College Advisory Council, and Young Tracks Preschool.

The Yampa Valley Bank Officers are passionate about providing the best banking experience and bring over 250 years of cumulative Banking and Lending related experience to their customer relationships. Here is list of our officer staff:

Senior Management Team

PJ Wharton: President and CEO
Dave Fleming: President – Craig
John Piret: Senior Vice President and Senior Lender
Lori St. Pierre: Senior Vice President and Senior Operations Officer
John Kerst: Vice President and Business Development Officer 

Steamboat Officer Team

Lore Marvin: Vice President and Commercial Lender
Clarice Dean: Asst. Vice President and Consumer Lender
Rebecca Moore: Asst. Vice President and Operations Officer
Debbie Wright: Asst. Vice President and Commercial Lender
Cole Hewitt: Asst. Vice President / Controller
Nicole Stone: Commercial Loan Officer
Terri Briels: Mortgage Loan Officer
Deana Von Almen: Human Resources Officer
Jeff Boswell:  Information Technology Officer

Craig Officer Team

Tonya Griffith: Vice President and Mortgage Lending Officer
Jennifer Bugay: Vice President and Operations Officer
Grant Roper: Vice President and Commercial Loan Officer
Cathrine Blevins: Asst. Vice President and Commercial Loan Officer
Ashley Wiseman: Credit Analyst and Junior Loan Officer

Yampa Valley Bank is a Colorado State Chartered Bank who receives regulatory oversight from both the FDIC and Colorado Division of Banking. You can find additional information regarding the FDIC, our primary regulator, at www.fdic.gov, or the Colorado Division of Banking at www.dora.colorado.gov.

FDICEqual Housing LenderYampa Valley Bank
NMLS # 222273